You Don’t Own Me


Hello all and happy Tuesday! Good news, besides a few hours of sleeplessness in the middle of the night, I have been feeling MUCH better today. Word to the wise, when you have a sore throat, do not fall asleep with a cough drop in your mouth, you will drool like a mad woman!! hahaha.  Sorry tmi, but I’m a drooler naturally so it was OOC (out of control) last night!

I wanted to share with your guys that the other day I took the plunge and threw out my scale!!! First I wrote a little message on it 🙂 I DESERVED to throw it out because my health is about feeling good and creating an active/able body, NOT about a number. It was a little weird when Joey asked “where did your scale go?” a few days back, but I explained to him that I could be having a good day, and then weigh myself and just feel crappy. Honestly I felt a little weird, but he’s always so supportive so it didn’t phase him. I think unless you are able to not be “owned” by the scale everyone should throw these things out and SCREAM BIATCH! YOU DON’T OWN ME!! ha!

I also found this incredible song by B.O.B. (I recommend this album if you haven’t heard it) called Ghost in A Machine and it was scary how much some of these lyrics used to describe me:

Tell me where am I supposed to go?
And who am I supposed to believe.
If only you knew what I knew.
Then you could see just what I see.

[Chorus:]
So I grab my bags and go, as far away as I can go.
Cause everything ain’t what I used to know.
And I try to hide, but I just can’t hide no more.
There’s nothing worse than feeling like a ghost.

I think of the running away as what I used to use food for, when I was confused/sad/stressed etc I would “run away” to that comfort, where I was alone, and that in turn turned me into someone with a numbness and I felt like I didn’t matter, like I was a ghost who was screaming at times, and no one heard. I am so blessed to have overcame that feeling. Life IS worth living to it’s fullest EVERY SINGLE DAY!!

OK now since I have been pretty serious this post, I thought I would share something really funny from my past. You guys might not know this, but I used to be REALLY in love with Zac Efron, I mean ya a lot of girls had posters and such, but no one I know had this…..

A ZAC EFRON CARDBOARD CUTOUT!!!

I found this gem online for like $40 and I HAD to have it. He immediately became a part of the family he even

Came to pool parties & even DJ'ed (sorry you cant see the boombox)

Drank champagne to celebrate Emmy's 23

Was peer pressed into smoking candles with us (yes, that's a candle, I'm weird)

And helped host Christmas parties!

Hahaha. Sadly, when we moved Zac decided it was time to part ways, and left me for a classroom at my mom’s grade school. Ha!

Well I hope you guys enjoyed a little taste of my goofiness!

Lastly, wanted to share my yummy lunch. I decided from now on I’m just gonna share my random/fun meals. I get tired of trying to post every meal. Hope that’s ok! Lunch was 2 eggs, 1 roma tomato, and some TJ’s chorizo. OMG SOOOO GOOD! I am seriously obsessing over this soy chorizo.

Eggy mix wrapped in an ezekiel tortilla. Had blueberry Stoneyfield yogi on the side, I LOVE this flavor

So for a final wrap up, why do you guys deserve to throw out your scale?? And have you ever felt like a ghost?

18 Responses

  1. I love the cardboard cutout. A girl at work and I have a stuffed doll we call Little Bobby that we pretend is like our child we have to take care of. It was his birthday a few weeks ago..

    And I don’t have a scale at home. If I’m worried about numbers, I use measurements to keep me in check. There’s a scale at work (randomly) that I’ll step on from time to time out of curiousity, but I’m happy when I fit right in my clothes and that’s good enough for me!

  2. DJ ZAC, SPIN THAT SHIT! bahahahaha. such good memories with you and zac. 🙂

  3. Good for you!!! We are ALL more than a number!!

  4. Yay for throwing out the scale! I want to be that brave someday but i’m still in the process of figuring out when my body feels ideally healthy…Not a Zac fan, but i had a life size cut out of obama which is just as creepy… especially when he wore a lady gaga wig.

  5. YES!!!!!! Show that scale who’s BOSS!! I never weigh myself anymore. The way I feel is way more important than what any number can tell me. YOU GO GIRL!!!!!!! So proud of you for taking that step towards freedom. Cute story… Angie (her blog is Caffeineted Cardio – from Atlanta too) said she threw her scale away last 4th of July and declared her independence from the scale. Don’t ya love it?! 😉

    You are too funny with your Zac cut out! 😉 I can tell you are a lot of fun to be around!! 🙂

    I want to try out this soy chorizo!! I’ll have to look for it next time at TJ’s.

  6. Good for you! Yay for throwing that scale out!

    I love all the pics of the Zac cut out…they are too funny! They totally made me smile!

  7. LOVE the note you wrote on your scale! YAY for tossing it!

    And my sister has a Taylor Lautner life size cutout… she put it in my room one time and I walked in at night and flipped on the lights and there he was! TOTALLY freaked me out!

  8. OMG, the Zac Efron life size cut out is hilarious. Love the pictures.

  9. i loved my scale smashing ceremony 2 years ago. man i tore that up to shreds. told it to shove itself where the sun dont shine. LOVE ur farewell to the scale. ❤ xoxo

  10. Another great post 🙂 I love the way you write BTW.

    Throwing away the scale is the best thing anyone can do for healthy living. Lifestyle is what its about. Thanks for sharing and not being a slave for life to a number that means nothing.

  11. haha, I like you Zac poster! It reminds me of a blow up doll I had in college (21st bday present) and we’d always dress her up and she’d “appear” at our parties lol!

    Great job on tossing the scale!!

  12. Yay for tossing the scale! I tossed mine this past Nov or Dec and have been so much happier than I would have been otherwise since then. I still can get down about my appearance, but if I had a number to focus on it would be constant and much worse. How you feel, how fit/healthy you are, and how you look are way more important and better gauges of your progress in health.

  13. Hahahah omg Zac Efron is H-O-T. In a totally…he’s way too pretty for me kinda way! 🙂 The picture of you with the candles is especially hilarious!

    Congrats on throwing that scale out! It def should not rule your day 🙂

    Ps def buying myself some soy chorizo (it’s vegetarian, right??) next week…when i’m home! That wrap looks killaaa (sorry for the super spastic comment–homegirl’s been studying all day!)

  14. Hi! i know you wrote this awhile ago… but i threw my scale away this morning… and kathy send me this link 🙂 what you said about deserving more is SO true, and i’m starting to really believe it… thanks!!

    itb, Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

