I’m the Rhymenocerous


I give up on coming up with post names that have anything to do with anything. This is a lyric of an AWESOME Flight of the Conchords song. Heres a YouTube link. Click if you like to laugh.

What's that?!? You don't like laughing?!

You should check out this site then. Ok, I’m done being weird now ๐Ÿ™‚

Just wanted to share some eats from the past day.

For sunday dinner Joey got some MorningStar Mushroom Lovers Burgers and whipped up some SP fries.

YUMMMMM!!!

Then, I saw a polenta pizza recipe on NewlyWedNewlyVeg and KNEW I had to try it. Not only did it look good, but I have been trying to think of a way to use my polenta. I also wanted to get something together on Sunday night that I could have ready for lunches this week.

Love you Bob

I changed the recipe only slightly, actually on accident. ย I think that Anna used premade polenta and I didn’t realize that till after. Also, I don’t like olives so I took that part off. I think because I cooked up the polenta that I actually made too much, so it took a long time to cook and was still a little mushy. ย That being said, the flavor was really good so I will be trying this again in the future for sure!

Ingredients:

1 & 1/2 cups dry polenta (cook as instructed on package)

2 eggs

Pizza sauce & toppings of your choice

I whipped up 1 & 1/2 cups of dry grits with 3 & 1/2 cups water. You have to pour it into the boiling water slow and stir a lot or it will get clumpy

Put cooked grits in the food processor with 2 eggs

After mixing

Poured into the oiled pan

After 20 minutes at 375

Add toppings (clearly I was low on sauce, and I used mushrooms and artichokes) and do 35 more minutes at 375

I cut it into 8 pieces and although I don’t count calories a did a little math and each piece is only about 175 cals; pretty good if you ask me! (And it will be less when I use less polenta next time)

I am trying to spice up my mornings a little so I wanted to shift gears on breakfast this morn.

New ingredients!

1 cup fiber one, 29 biscuits of autumn wheat (that's 1 serving I didn't just pick a random number), 1 cup almond milk, 1 sliced nanner, and cinnamon

I was VERY happy with breakfast and it kept me satisfied all morning and through my workout!

Tonight for dinner I wanted a little Asian meal. I am actually trying to use up food I have in my house, it’s forcing me to get creative and I like it!

Ingredients: 1 eggplant, organic soba noodles, tempeh, and low sodium soy sauce

Cube eggplant, toss in 1.5 tbsp olive oil and salt and pepper, and cook at 400 for 23 min

After

Add 1.5 tbsp soy sauce to pan and heat up cubed tempeh

Add roasted eggplant

Add cooked noodles

Voila!

It was quite delish!!

Well that’s it for me tonight. Off to watch the end of Tough Love Couples (more crap TV I’m admitting to and saying my best friend is KELLI!! haha) Here is the cutest pic of Noodle and me while I was making dinner

Don't mind my neck strain, concentrate on Noodle sitting like a teddybear ๐Ÿ™‚

8 Responses

  1. I tried making polenta pizza a few years ago and it was a major fail. I will have to try this out though, thanks so much for sharing!! I love gluten free pizza ideas!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love the pic of you and Noodle!! ๐Ÿ™‚ So adorable, have a wonderful night!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Yea for new cereal! I heart Fiber One. Especially when it’s on sale at Walgreens… like it is now… I track cereal sales like none other!

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by jilljub310. jilljub310 said: Iโ€™m the Rhymenocerous http://bit.ly/dD4Jp8 […]

  4. hahaha best face ever!!!! โค

    polenta rocks! ur polenta pizza looks LOVELY! so does ur doggie too xoxoxo ๐Ÿ™‚ hehe

  5. haha she is sitting like a teddy bear!!

    yumm that autumn harvest is SO good! I had it once and it was delish! I love how you bump up the volume with fiber one ๐Ÿ™‚ great idea!

    mmm polenta pizza!!

  6. Polenta pizza looks delicious! I love all the dog pics, makes me smile. I try to hold my dog like that but the little guy is upwards 25 pounds now so it can be a bit difficult.

  7. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm girl polenta pizza looks delish! Never had!!!

    Yummy!!!!!

    Awwwwwwwwwwwww I love pics of you and your cute puppy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Glad you liked the recipe! Yes, mine polenta was already cooked, so I’m sure you ended up with a LOT! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Your eggplant noodles look awesome!

Leave a Reply

