Parsnips, Ravioli, & Chicken…..OH MY!!!


Hello to all!! Sorry for my prolonged absence, I have been finishing up my final paper for grad school!! Yippee!! I turned it in and got it approved by my first reader and now it’s in the hands of the second reader (a lot of steps if you ask me, ha).  What does that mean you ask? Well it means I have NOTHING to do for school until I get it back!!!! Big smiles there!! Well I hope everyone had a great week and I promise to start commenting on blogs again now 🙂

Now on to some eats you missed this week!

On Wednesday I made dinner for Joey and decided to get a little crazy!! I HAD CHICKEN!!! Oh my!!! And I wanted to try out those parsnip fries that I have been reading about all over the blogs. Here is the rundown:

I used the recipe from OhSheGlows (mine is only slightly different)

Ingredients:

4 parsnips

1 tbsp almond butter

2 tbsp chunky peanut butter

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

salt to taste

Instructions:

1) Preheat oven to 375

2) Cut your parsnips into fry like strips

Before

This is 1 parsnip that I cut up

After

3) Put all ingredients in a large bowl (sorry this looks like baby poop, ha)

4) Mix in “fries”. I tried to put the lid on this container and “mix” by shaking the bowl, but the nut butters didn’t cooperate. So I had to do it by hand, very messy.

5) Lick your hand, because nut butters and olive oil taste really good together 🙂

6) Spread “fries” out on a cookie sheet (I used parchment paper under for less cleanup)

7) Pop in oven for 35 minutes (the original recipe says a lot longer, but mine looked like this after 35)

8 ) ENJOY!

Then I made some BBQ chicken. I had really small pieces of chicken left over from like 5 million years ago in the freezer.  I simply thawed the chicken, put in a baking pan (tin foil underneath for cleanup), cover with BBQ sauce of your choice (I use Bone Suckin’ Sauce) and popped in over for 15 minutes, put more BBQ sauce on them, then put back in the oven for another 15 minutes.

Before

After

*Obviously different sizes of chicken may take longer to cook, so be sure to cut into a piece and make sure that your chicken is fully cooked.

*I put both the chicken and the “fries” in the oven at the same time

Final Product

It was an excellent dinner and the chicken sat well with my tummy 🙂 Success!! Also we used some organic ketchup on the fries, but they were def good without too!

Friday night I made a quick meal, but it was really impressive looking so take notes!! I tried another one of these tasty frozen raviolis from Rising Moon Organics These are one of my FAVORITE products ever!! They take about 8 minutes to cook up and have excellent flavor!! HIGHLY recommend.  So I cooked these suckers up and roasted asparagus.  To roast my asparagus I just preheat at 400, cut the ends off the asparagus, toss in 1.5 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil salt and pepper, then spread on a cookie sheet with tin foil, and pop in oven for 12 minutes. HOLY YUM on this whole dinner.

Final Product: I also sprinkled some cilantro and parmesan on the ravioli

Saturday Joey whipped up some excellent pizza

Pesto, goat cheese, artichokes, and roma tomatoes. ZANG 🙂

I ate 4 pieces, aka half a pizza. I obviously hated it

I also polished off a pint of excellent “ice cream” between dessert time on Friday and Saturday. Purely Decadent brand (it’s made with coconut milk). It was cookie dough, YUMMY!!Well that’s all the noteworthy eats as of lately. Noodle has been looking really cute lately so I wanted to share some pics of her too 🙂

I like the new bathroom mat mama

Please drop some pizza Daddy

Haha. Well that’s it from me right now. I think I will do an exercise post later today too! I hope everyone has a fabulous weekend and again, sorry for getting a little behind! Hope you enjoy the recipes!!

6 Responses

  1. Oh, I’ve never had parsnip fries before! This recipe looks great, I will have to try it!! 🙂 Thanks!!

  2. Wow…Joey is quite the pizza maker…does he deliver? haha!

  3. That “ice cream” looks yummy! I am finally giving in to the fact that real dairy ice cream kills my stomach so I might have to give that stuff a try!

    Love the parsnip fries-I admit to being a bit scared of parsnips, but now I want to try them!

  4. I have been MIA as well, busy with school, blah… Good to have you back! Those parsnip fries look incredibly unique, but I think i’m going to give them a try. Thanks for posting!

  5. those parsnip fries turned out amazing! always a positive when trying out someones recipe. good job! 😀 haha yes lick ur hand..tastyyyy

Leave a Reply

