Recipe R-r-r-eeeeeemiiiixxxx


Hello to all! Hope everyone is having a great weekend. I’m currently putting off doing some homework so I thought I would fill everyone in on a bunch of recipes I whipped up this week. Honestly, the remix part of my title has zero to do with my post, but Joey and I were talking about Napster the other day and remembering how frustrating it was to download a whole song and then when you listen you realize you got some dumb DJ’s remix. It was always something like “DJ Spin Master IN THE HOUUUUUUUSE!!!!! Petey Pablo REEEEEEEEMMMMMMMIIIIIIIIXXXXXXXX” hahaha. Memories 😉

There have been some hits and misses this week in the recipe department, so here is the rundown!

Carrots N Cake Iced Coffee:

Since it’s starting to be summer time and hot in the mornings I was inspired by Carrots N Cake to try iced coffee. I follow her instructions exactly. All you do is double the grounds you would typically use to brew a pot and the pop the brewed coffee in a container in the fridge. This stuff is seriously delish. I’m addicted already! Although I like my regular coffee black, I like iced coffee with 1/2 packet of stevia; getting crazy I know!! *Side note, I would recommend drinking with a straw, I already spilled on a dress of mine once 😦

Oh She Glows Vegan Overnight Oats:

Along the same thinking with the heat coming I tried out Oh She Glows Vegan Overnight Oats and it was a major FAIL!!! I followed her recipe exactly, but I seriously threw it out after a few bites. I think she recommends too much chia seeds for my taste. Although I like to add the chia pudding (1/2 tbsp chia and 1/4 cup almond milk mixed and refrigerated overnight) to my oats, 2 tbsp was too much!! Here is the before and after pics just for your information. (You can click on the link for the recipe, since I didn’t like it too much, I won’t post).

Before

After

Fitnessista’s Eggplant Curry: I saw this the other night of Fitnessista’s site and I HAD to make it. It was my first adventure into Indian food and it was a big hit!

Ingredients:

Ingredients for eggplant curry

1 eggplant

1 yellow onion

1 cup veggie broth

1 can diced tomatoes

1 bay leaf

1 tbsp curry powder

1/2 tbsp cumin

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp salt

1/8 tsp cayenne

The instructions couldn’t be more simple, just cut up the eggplant and onion into large pieces and throw all ingredient in the slow cooker

Before

Put on low heat and cook about 5 hours

After, I was in shock it looked and smelled so good!!

Egg-celent eggplant curry with naan

Pumpkin Black Bean Tortilla Wrap: I had a can of pumpkin open and a can of black bean refried beans so I wanted to try to use them up before they went bad.

Layer 1: goat cheese

Layer 2: heated pumpkin

Layer 3: heated black bean refried beans, I also sprinkled some salt and pepper

Final product with steamed broccoli

This was pretty good, but make sure you go heavier on the beans and lighter on the pumpkin, the pumpkin can easily overwhelm.

Roasted Artichoke Heart Sammy: I had a can of artichoke hearts (my new obsession) from Trader Joes that I wanted to use in a fun way.

Canned artichoke hearts

Tossing them in 1 tbsp EVOO and salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 375 and put hearts in a pan

Keep in over for 50 minutes

Added everything together on the homemade whole wheat english muffins I got at the farmers market this morning.

The ULTIMATE sammy!!

Side view

This was one of my favorite sammy’s ever!! So bomb.

Quinoa and Meatballs:

So this one isn’t really a recipe, but it was a good meal so I wanted to share. I just cooked up some quinoa (you put it in a sauce pan with 1 parts quinoa to 2 parts water, bring to a boil, then cover and let simmer for 10-15 minutes or until the water is absorbed).  I simply added some VeggiePatch meatless meatballs, Newmans spaghetti sauce and sprinkled some goat cheese. Yummy!!

I did so good on cooking this week 🙂 Last night I also enjoyed a big treat!

Dessert: chocolate shake

I seriously forgot how good milkshakes are. TO DIE FOR!! We also hit up the local farmers market this morning and I got some local honey, whole wheat english muffins (which about a 4 item ingredient list!! love it!), and a homemade carrot cake thing that I am highly anticipating eating for dessert tonight!! I really wanted there to be more veggies there, but it’s early in the season.

Well I best actually get some work done. Hitting up the gym later today for a repeat on the previously written about weight workout. Hope everyone has a great day and enjoys the recipes!!

15 Responses

  1. WOW!! Come cook for me…please?

  2. Lots of yummy looking food on here! I’m totally with ya on chia seeds though… I like ’em, but not too many. Kinda weird to eat and they get all in my teeth. I’ll have to try chia pudding out. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of that! And omg, that roasted artichoke sammie looks glorious!! YUMMMMM!!

  3. P.S. I totally remember that about Napster, hehe!

  4. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by jilljub310, Healthycoffee. Healthycoffee said: Recipe R-r-r-eeeeeemiiiixxxx « Quarterlifewellness's Blog: Petey Pablo REEEEEEEEMMMMMMMIIIIIIIIXXXXXXXX” hahaha. M… http://bit.ly/bSn37K […]

  5. i’m so glad you liked the curry!!!
    xoxo

  6. Ahahaha… I was always so anal after I’d downoad the song- you’d have to listen to the whole thing before you put it on your ipod. Because the worst was running and all the sudden hearing that remix crap or a weird voice going “AOL music…” or whatever they say.

    That artichoke sandwich looks freakin’ awesome.

  7. I like this a lot.

    (esp you with the straw for dessert) I’m totally in love with straws and am that annoying person making rude noises when the drink is done.

    Happy weekend!
    Katherine
    whataboutsummer

  8. Ahh I love that you tried so many recipes and gave them honest and thoughtful reviews! I see so many recipes everyday that I consider trying, so to have your take on them is excellent! Looks like you are so adventurous and creative! I love the artichoke sandwich the best! Amazing, my dear!

  9. nice recipe roundup! I love the sammie–I really love anything with pesto pretty much! 🙂

  10. holy crap! you’ve been one busy chef. I must try that eggplant dish as I have most of the stuff. Thanks for all these wonderful ideas!
    you looks so adorable in that green cardigan.

  11. I agree, great eats this week! We make our own iced coffee like that too, and always have a pitcher in the fridge during the summer. Such a money saver!

  12. I want to try the eggplant curry and the artichoke sammy…stat!

  13. Hmmm.. I was wondering about those overnight oats…Thanks for the recipe ideas!

Leave a Reply

