Why Do We Trash Men??


Hello to all and HAPPY FRIDAY!! Hope everyone is having a great day! Glad to see people are excited about THE GIVEAWAY be sure to enter if you haven’t yet, it goes until Sunday at midnight! ๐Ÿ™‚

I have something pretty random to talk about today, but I find it quite important. The other day Lisa (I’m An Okie) mentioned watching the show Kendra and I commented on her site about how much I enjoy that they show Hank supporting Kendra in her getting back into shape after baby, but does not at all push her. In fact, he tells her HE LOVES HER AS SHE IS!!! Imagine that!! This got me thinking how sad it was that you really never see that on tv, we always see the a-hole male persona who wants the supermodel wife/girlfriend and would cringe at the thought of her being chunky aka unattractive (I am not treating these as synonyms, I am saying they are portrayed that way in the media).

So my question is, why do guys get such a bad rap?? I was talking to Joey about this and he doesn’t get it either. ย He is my biggest supporter when it comes to school, blogging, and above all my wavering love/hate relationship with my appearance. ย I mean, don’t get me wrong, I know I am very lucky and Joey is a GREAT guy, but he’s not the only one out there. ย Just look at all the supportive and loving bloggers/boyfriends/husbands I read about daily. ย Not to mention most guys I know prefer women who don’t wear too much makeup, don’t get OVERLY done up (obviously they like women to look nice, but not like a playboy bunny), and love themselves no matter what size they are. ย And I am aware there are some a-holes out there, hell I’ve dated a large number of them, haha. ย I wonder do we really think men are bad or do we just want someone to blame? What I mean is, does portraying men as perfection seeking beings allow us as women to obsess about our appearance? Maybe it’s just a way out of blaming ourselves for our own obsessions. Hmmmmm, just something to think about. I’d love to hear your comments.

Ok, I’m done being deep ๐Ÿ™‚ Here are some food goodies from my glorious day off yesterday:

4 ring pops for $1 at Walmart, I couldn't say no!

Joey grilled these up for us, I got them on sale awhile back, the flavor is AWESOME

Full meal: Asparagus and Sunshine on a ciabatta bun with the works. HOLY COW (or no cow I guess, haha).

Gin & Tonics + Mad Men Season 3 = the best day ever

New add-in I found at Target. So good.

Been seeing this is the blogs lately so I wanted to try. ULTIMATE FAIL. I thought this was nasty.

I had one bite and threw this out, and I don't throw out food. Apparently chocolate and greek yogurt is not a good combo (Joey couldn't stomach his either)

Dessert number 2: blueberry greek and cranberry mix add-ins YUMMY

Quick snack before yoga this morning, topped with Skippy natural with honey. Got these on sale, SO GOOD.

Well that’s it from me this morning. Homework time. Boo!! Making dinner tonight for Joey ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a fabulous Friday!

**Extra add-in. Holy crap Aqua spin class?!?! Saw this on Kirsty Alley’s show today, and found this video from a few years back and this article. Anyone done this?? Apparently I’m about 4-5 years behind in discovering it. ha.

11 Responses

  1. I totally agree!! The men in my life (my husband, dad, stepdad, brother) all are so supportive and awesome people! NO GUY bashing from me! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I think honestly then men really aren’t to blame any more (if they ever were). I feel that women as a whole are harder on ourselves and others in the society we’re in today… Just in my opinion….

  3. That’s an interesting theory. There are definitely some crappy men out there, but I think there are more who are accepting and who honestly like women with curves and without makeup. I’d say a majority do. We need to be easier on ourselves!

  4. That is a really good point! I think we often assume that guys are judgemental of our appearance, and while some definitely are it’s not fair to say that about them all and it could definitely be a copout for our own insecurities!

    And damn… I just bought the chocolate Oikos today. Sad news.

  5. This is all sooooo true. I am very lucky to have some amazing, kind men in my life. From Andrew to my dad, my grandfather, my father-in-law, step father-in-law, my best girlfriend’s dad… Andrew has seen me at so many different weights and he’s loved me and told me I’m beautiful at every single size. He will do anything to make me happy and I’m so thankful for that. Oh, and you know what’s interesting to me… I NEVER got hit on or winked at or honked at when I was at my skinniest. I was like, what the crap, why don’t any guys like me when I’m finally at my goal weight??!! BUT now that I’ve put on some weight, geeeeez, old men flirt with me left and right at the grocery store, men constantly run to get doors and ask me if I need any help at stores, haha! ๐Ÿ™‚ Just interesting to me that now when I’m at my curviest, I’m getting the most male attention. Haha, just don’t tell Andrew, haha! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Hey Girlie! thanks for the comment on my blog! I LOVE guys and think they are AWESOME! my boyf is the most supportive person in the world…and my biking buddies push me to the LIMIT all the time! I hate that guys get a bad rap! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    I hope you are having a fabulous friday!
    xoxo!

  7. First off, my reader was messed up and not updating your posts. I think I got it figured out. I know I read your blog a lot a month or so ago and then I thought you had stopped posting. So when I saw your comment on my giveaway I had to come see what happened. It’s apparently my own glitch. Sorry about that!

    Anyways…this is very interesting. I think it’s true that most men are supportive and love a more natural and confident woman. I think the media is just all about promoting perfection so women, as consumers, will buy into it. So the media shows men expecting beauty and glamor, then women feel the need to fulfill it, and then get frustrated so want to blame the men. And the process just snowballs.

    Also, spinning in water. Oh, hell no! That is insane!!!

  8. Ohh I’ve tried all the flavors of Sunshine burgers except the BBQ! It looks tasty ๐Ÿ˜€

    I think guys being a-holes is a stereotype just like girls being overly emotional. But I have to say…I’m still in college and most of the guys I’ve met ARE a-holes. I’m pretty sure it’s a phase ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. so glad to hear that about the chocolate oikos-now im not gona buy some!

  10. I was thinking the same thing about the Kendra show. I am so glad that she allowed cameras to follow her right after her baby. You see all these moms on US weekly a few weeks after their births looking rail thin again and that is just unrealistic. I think it is refreshing to see both Kendra and Hank dealing with issues common to everyone.

  11. This reminds me of a conversation I had with Sean once. Two summers ago, I weighed about 112-115lbs and had a six pack and the flattest stomach with no fat whatsoever…yes, I looked great, but I had to BE restrictive to be that way. And honestly, It wasn’t fun. I wasn’t fun.

    Now, I’m about 10 lbs heavier and Sean said he would rather have the fun relaxed Lisa with 10 extra lbs than the girl worried about what she could eat for dinner. Really opened my eyes to how I looked at myself.

Leave a Reply

