A Weekend of Good Eats


Hello and happy Sunday to all! Hope everyone had a great weekend, I know I did! Before I have to get started on some homework (boo!!) I thought I would share with you my eats from the weekend, a few new recipes, yay!!

Friday started out with a lot of random stores for groceries. Whenever time allows, I like to go all over the place for groceries because I know different stuff is cheaper at different stores. Some of the goods:

Zesty BBQ soy crisps and the best coffee in the world!!

Finally found these large cartons at Dillons!! Anyone know why they expire sooner than the smaller boxes?

TJ Maxx finds!! My favorite new fruit snacks and about $2 each!!

Taking a note from Healthy Diva Eats with this Ginger People marinade I found at TJ Maxx, $3!

Also a super lunch on Friday (I have been putting greek yogurt on EVERYTHING lately, seriously it is the best sammy/wrap topping):

A yummy lunch: Wrap with tempeh, broccoli slaw, greek yogurt, and tofutti cheese. Apple & soy crisps.

Friday night I decided to make a yummy dinner for Joey. I did some google searching, came across this post and tweaked it just a little.

Ingredients:

1 large tater

Asparagus

1/4 white onion

1/4 cup walnuts

1 cup quinoa

EVOO

Salt

Instructions for Taters:

1) Quarter the tater (ok, so I used 2 medium taters, but I had a lot left over, so it just depends on how much you want), toss in 2 tbsp EVOO and salt and spread into a pan.

2 medium taters quartered and tossed in EVOO and salt

2) Roast in oven at 375 for 1 hr – 1 hr 15 min

Taters, after

Instructions for Asparagus:

1) Cut the ends off all of the asparagus, and toss in 1.5 tbsp EVOO and some salt

Asparagus tossed in EVOO and salt with 1/4 chopped white onion on top

2) Spread onto cookie sheet (I put tin foil under for easy clean up)

3) Chop 1/4 of white onion and sprinkle on top of the asparagus

4) Roast in oven at 400 for 12 min

Instructions for Walnuts:

1) Spread walnuts on cookie sheet

2) Cook in oven at 350 for 8-10 min

Instructions for Quinoa:

1) Put 1 part quinoa to 2 parts water in a pot and bring to a boil

2) Reduce heat to low and let simmer for about 15 min or until all the water has been absorbed by the quinoa

*Put all the ingredients together however you choose and ENJOY!!

Finished meal

Saturday Joey and I got lunch at The Grotto and DAYUM it was delish.

BEST PORTABELLA BURGER EVER!!!

Joey also made a fabulous dinner last night, mushroom ragout with spinach-parm polenta. Here’s the link (sorry no pics, I was too busy inhaling it). I am sooo lucky to have a bf who supports my meatless & healthy eating, I feel very blessed.

As for a workout, I did a power yoga class yesterday that went really well! I was a little worried since I had a mediocre workout week. On a TMI note  I went into class with a bit of a belly ache and I swear I passed gas (luckily the non-smelly kind) like 5 times in class!! hahahaha. Luckily the music was loud so I think it was the undercover kind 😉

Eww. On a random note on this Olay commercial that just came on this lady said that her anti-aging lotion is working so well she might actually celebrate her birthday this year. I HATE how women feel embarrassed by getting older, and I just don’t get it. Why are men allowed to age and women aren’t?! It makes zero sense to me.

Well I’m off to do my homework. Love to hear your opinions about women and aging? Are you guys embarrassed to age? I embrace it and I will be DAMNED if I don’t go all out for a birthday 🙂

11 Responses

  1. That burger looks awesome! I have tried every other kind of burger (veggie, chicken, turkey, black bean) but a portabello one…

  2. You really did have a weekend of good eats! I love roasted asparagus… I love it even more on the grill in the summer 🙂

  3. I just bought some asparagus today. I may have to try that recipe out!! Looks great!! 🙂

  4. I just realized that it’s been way too long since I actually commented on your blog! Trust me, I’m still reading! Those taters and asparagus are a match made in heaven, what a great combo!

  5. i love that you were ripping ass in yoga. my kinda girl.

  6. Totally irony – I’ve been on the lookout for the small cartons of the Almond Breeze Vanilla Unsweetened. I had only seen the big one, but I didn’t want to buy it because I was sure the two of us wouldn’t go through the whole thing before it expired. Today at TJ’s I finally came across the small cartons of this variety and I so thrilled!

  7. I’m not sure what EVOO is, but my favorite way to roast asparagus in the oven is with slivers of garlic and some olive oil, then shredding fresh Parmesan cheese on top. I could eat gallons of that every day!

  8. mmm that asparagus and taters looks yummy!

    i’m having asparagus tonight…
    http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/healthy-recipes/NU00480.

Leave a Reply

