Is It Just Me?


Hello to all!! Hope everyone had a wonderful weekend and Monday. I had my test Saturday and I think it went great!! I am soooo happy for it to be OVER!!!!!!! Praise the Lord! πŸ™‚ Saturday night consisted of a little bit of this…

Gin & Tonic Please πŸ™‚

and Sunday I just vegged out with my man and ate good food…

Blueberry pancakes from Cracker Barrel; I ate EVERY last bite!

and watched 3 episodes of Mad Men (we will finish season 1 tonight) and the Super Bowl of course! Joey was very excited that the Saints won (he did go to LSU) and he won the bet he had with my mama. haha.

Oh and I had a GREAT workout yesterday at the gym. The thing is my weight has been playing games with me and it’s really annoying! More than anything I just hate really not understanding why I am gaining weight. So, I decided to change up my workout routine a bit. I didn’t want to spend a lot of time at the gym yesterday, but I wanted a good workout, so I warmed up with a 1 mile jog on the treadmill (and my knee doesnt hurt today! YIPPEE!!!) then I set up shop in the group fitness room (there are no classes on sundays) and did a calisthenics workout. I did 5 minutes consecutively (30 seconds of each exercise) with a 2 minute break in between sets and ran through the whole thing 4 times. Here is the run down:

Jumping Jacks
Walking Lunges
Jump Back & Forth Over An Invisible Middle Line
Squat Thrusts
Mountain Climbers
Fake Jump Rope
Running With High Knees
Push Ups on Knees
Jump Up High For The Sky
Middle Squat & Pulse

It was INTENSE and awesome! Sometimes its those “old school” exercises that can really kick your booty!
Food Reviews:

THIS BAR WAS OFF THE CHARTS GOOD!!! I live and die for PB&J and this bar was just like eating one. I loved every minute of it!

As for the title of my blog, I love the biggest loser, but it has been really making me angry (and others, as I could tell when Fitnessista blogged about this) since Jillian has gone all “quick fix” weight loss. I knew I had to blog about it myself when I read this article this morning. The rundown is it’s a review about Jillian Cleanse, and the woman who tried it lost 3 pounds in 2 weeks, but she also changed her diet. On top of that it made her jittery at times and gave her the runs!!! And then this chick goes on to say it wasn’t that bad, but she probably wouldn’t do it again. WHAT THE HELL?! First of all, this is on a supposed fitness website, but it is kind of promoting taking some pills that make you jittery, which makes me angry enough. But on top of that, how irresponsible of Jillian Michaels to be doing this crap. This is the antithesis of what a healthy lifestyle should be. Β The quick fix doesn’t work and we all know that, but for some reason as a whole we just don’t listen. It can be very frustrating for myself (someone who is not only interested in keeping myself healthy, but who plans to go into the profession of health promotion). What are your thoughts on the article/the cleanse? Do you think Jillian is being irresponsible or just trying to cash in while she can (and is that ok?).

Well that’s all I got here for today! Almost time for Intervention, one of my favorite shows ever!! Also I wanted to thank everyone sooo much for all your support during my test times!

4 Responses

  1. i love that picture! you look so happy to be done. πŸ™‚ i’m sure you did amazing!

  2. First things first… Cracker Barrell has the BEST, I mean the BESSSSSST blueberry pancakes in the entire world!!!!!! YUMMY!! πŸ™‚

    And I’m totally with you on the Jillian thing… love her workouts, but geez, she’s really disappointed me with this new weight loss pill. It’s very irresponsible and to me just seems so contradictory of what she appears to preach on TBL… eat right and exercise is what it comes down to – NO pill will change your life. Oprah says it all the time that if there actually were a pill that existed that worked, she would have it!

    I’m watching Intervention too!! It’s one of my very favorite shows too!!!!!! πŸ™‚

  3. Congrats for taking the test!! Hooray! I agree with the cleansing and weight loss pills. It isn’t about quick fixes. Its about a healthy lifestyle. I watched the Biggest Loser the other day and was getting angry at the obsession with weight loss. They should focus on their fitness and energy levels. Numbers are just numbers. I don’t know, it just bothers me. Then again, I dont have a scale in my apartment, and don’t weigh myself except for at doctor’s visits. I now what my body needs and I am careful not to go overboard in either direction.
    I am watching Intervention right now, and love the topic on this episode! It is scary how easy this is to relate to.

  4. yay for the test!! yeah that is so frustrating with biggest loser- i haven’t been watching it but im sure i’d have the same feelings you are. i’m going to just agree with what others have said: dont worry about the number too much. it is about how you feel and fit in your clothes, u know? you are so beautiful πŸ™‚

    xoxoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

