Skippy “Natural” How Could You??


Skippy Natural Peanut Butter actually has four ingredients: peanuts, sugar, palm oil, and salt.

I never looked at the label because I assumed that it was actually natural. I hate when products try to trick consumers!

This is a great example to me of one reason (there are many others) why America is facing such a weight problem. Catchy titles/labels are leading consumers to believe that they are purchasing healthy products.

And don’t get me wrong, I am not saying that Skippy is the worst product ever, I will finish the jar I just bought, this girl does not waste money! ha. But I think it is irresponsible to mis-inform the consumer. Always read your labels, the less ingredients the better!

I also saw that my Barney Butter has this added stuff too! Man, I am 2 for 2 on picking out nut butters! Wah-Wahhhhh (my attempt at that “fail” noise, haha)

9 Responses

  1. How rude, Skif! I’ve heard so much about Barney Butter so I’m surprised it has added stuff in it. By the way, very funny comment about strappin on a blue suit for len. Roar is right!

  2. it’s just like Welch’s Juicy Juice. They claim 100% juice but if you read closely, it’s 100% juice…from concentrate.

  3. aw thats ok- it is still good for you 🙂 that is annoyin though!

    xoxox
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  4. barney butter is AMAZING, pure liquid crack I tell ya!!! try it, you wont be dissapointed!!

  5. but yeah I realized that there is some palm oil in it as well…its just SO GOOD THOUGH!!!

  6. Isn’t it sad that we have to read every little thing on a label due to false advertising?! I’ve given up and just grind my own at my health food store!

  7. Hi I just found your blog, and I had to chime in on this topic. There are a lot of “natural” nut butters out there, even some that are organic (Maranatha) that have added sugar and palm oil. Anytime the label says no stir, that means that there is palm oil in it. And, usually sugar too. All those fancy flavored peanut butters that people seem to love all have added things too. And anything that is ultra creamy probably has added oil/sugar. Whew (stepping off soap box).

Leave a Reply

