Give Me A Break!


Happy Saturday to all! Hope everyone had a wonderful Friday. I decided to take a little study break and blog! Blogging is so wonderful because it gives me time for myself, but I still feel like I’m being productive, it’s the best of both worlds!

Yesterday was a fun and productive day for myself. I worked a bunch on my comps (geez my life is fun!), hit up some hot yoga (more on this later), and had a wonderful dinner with my man! We watched a couple more episodes of Mad Men (is it me or is Jon Hamm one of the sexiest EVER!! Meow!!) and just relaxed. It’s pretty much our Friday night ritual, because we are typically exhausted by the time we make it to Friday night. Also, we usually have to get up early Saturdays to start working on homework so we need a good nights sleep. I seriously cannot wait until I get a real job so I can relax on the weekends! Schools is a 7 day a week job, especially grad school, and honestly I’m pretty tired of it! It is def one reason why I need an outlet, and my outlet of choice is exercise! That leads us to:

Gym Time:

As I said yesterday I went to hot yoga, it was great (even though my balance was a little off yesterday).  But I love this class because every time at the beginning they remind you not to judge yourself (no one else is) and that everyday is different.  I think that is an important mantra to apply to life in general.  We always think others are judging us, and that’s simply not true. It is kind of funny how being overly critical of yourself and thinking others are is inevitably being a bit self-centered. We assume that we are “that important” that others are constantly thinking about how we look, our size, etc. The funny part is that is the exact opposite of how most women are (the self-centered part I mean). So it makes it easier to put myself in check when I think of it like that. If I go out one day thinking, omg everyone is going to hate my hair today, its like “ok jill, no one probably cares about your hair” haha.

I also did 30 minutes on the elliptical,  level 12, interval.

Food Rundown:

Breakfast:

Seedy Pumpkin Raisin Oats and Chocolate Marshmallow Coffee

Oats: 1/2 cup steel cut oats (made with 1 cup water), 1/4 cup raisins, cinnamon to taste, 1/4 cup pumpkin, 1 spoonful barney butter, 1 tbsp chia seed meal, and 1 tbsp flax seed meal

Snack: Unpictured Apple Pie LaraBar

Lunch:

PB & J on an Ezekiel English Muffin & a Pear

Confession, this is the first time I have ever had a pear on its own (like eating it like an apple). It was delish!

Snack:

Carrot sticks with Roasted Red Pepper Hummus & a Seeded Spelt Dr. Kracker

Dinner:

Sunshine Burger Topped with Red Onion, Tomato, Lettuce, Avocado, Vegan Cheddar, and Ketchup with Sweet Potato Fries!!

Check Me Out!!! YUMM!!

My Joey Posing with Our Wine: A Delicious Crios Malbec

Snack:

Ezekiel Tortilla with Melted Raw Honey & Cacao Chips

I also was inspired by Miss Love Veggies and Yoga and tried out another raw cookie recipe.  This week’s Raw Vegan Oatmeal Raisin. All I had to do was mix the ingredient in my food processor:

6 dates

1/4 cup raisins

1/2 cup oatmeal

dash of vanilla extract

1 tsp cinnamon

Then I hit a little mis-step.  All my ingredients were mixed, but they weren’t making a dough, it was just dust! Boo! So I decided to add about 4 tbsp of peanut butter and voila!

Raw Vegan Oatmeal Raisin PB Cookies

They were quite tasty (although not as good as last week’s raw vegan chocolate chip cookie dough balls)! I think I am going to start making a batch of vegan cookies every weekend!

Well I best get back to work! Today I am going to hit up the gym and lift weights! That is, after I try out one of the bars that I won from Monica On the Go!! Yay! I got my package yesterday and it made my day! 🙂 Also tonight Joey is making something shrimpy and delicious for dinner (I’m spoiled!). Anyone have any fun plans for the weekend? I need people to live vicariously through!! ha.

7 Responses

  1. I went snowshoeing for the first time today! It was a lot harder than I thought it was going to be, but I already want to go again 🙂 Too bad renting snow shoes isn’t cheap and buying them definitely isn’t either!

  2. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog! I love it when people stop by because I get to discover their blogs! I am loving all your food, especially the raw cookies!

    I am very much looking forward to keeping up with you!

  3. Thanks for the sweet comment on my blog!!!!!

    Loving your eats, and pears rock, cant believe your first time having it by itself!!! Your dog is too cute!!!!!

    Have a great night!!! xo

  4. jealous you tried those raw balls- i have been wanting to!!
    snowshoeing sounds fun 🙂
    & by the way-i tried the raw revolution bars- you were right, so good!!

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

