Being An Athlete


Good morning to all! Hope everyone ad a wonderful Thursday! Can you believe it’s Friday?!? I can’t remember the last time I was so excited for the weekend!! And tonight is Joey and my 1 year 4 months (yes, we still keep track, but we don’t really do anything besides wish each other a happy anniversary). But I am making dinner tonight: veggie burgers, sweet potato fries, and raw vegan oatmeal raisin cookies! yum!

As for the title of my blog today, is it me or does anyone else thrive on being an athlete? I guess a better start, what makes someone an athlete? Although I don’t really play a particular sport, I fully consider myself one.  I think of an athlete as someone who is willing to push themselves, especially through some pain, to get the results they want. I pride myself on being able to push myself with the best of them in the gym, or in the yoga room.  For instance, doing all of this hot yoga can really be intense and strenuous, but seeing the outcome in your mind gets you through it.  Knowing that you can do these types of things gives me a lot of self-confidence too (I guess that’s one reason it’s so important to have children involved in sports activities).  When you are involved in sports I think it makes you want to do things the “right” way too. You have to learn how to fuel your body correctly.  I wasn’t an athlete in my past because although I was working out, I wasn’t able/willing to push myself because I was either starving myself or overindulging so much that my body couldn’t get in sync with my mind.

All that being said, being an athlete you must know when to push yourself (pain for results as opposed to too much pain and hurting yourself).  I went on a little jog last night (20 minutes at 6.5 because I haven’t run in a few weeks) and near the end I started having really intense knee pain again. I actually am pretty positive I somehow retore something in my knee (I had a past ski injury where I tore my MCL in both my knees and additionally my ACL and meniscus in my right knee), blah.  This being said I have to make the smart decision (although it’s hard), to stay off the treadmill for a long time (luckily the elliptical doesn’t bother me).  Hopefully this will improve on it’s own because I really don’t want to do any more knee doctoring!! But I’ll be sure to keep you posted.  Overall, just know that an athlete listens to their body, but doesn’t let there injuries get in their way (i.e. elliptical/yoga-ing/other outlets).  We just never stop 🙂

Is Dana Torres a badass or what?!

Food Rundown:

Breakfast:

Seedy Banana Pumpkin BB Oats

Snack: Red Delicious apple

Lunch:

Part 1: Green Monster, I actually am turning against these things, I don't know why, but I couldn't even finish this

Part 2: "Chicken" sammy on ezekiel english muffin and vegan cheddar

Dinner:

Sauteed tofu & onion tacos (ezekiel tortilla), broccoli, carrots and roasted red pepper hummus, and a dr. hansen ginger ale

Snack:

Crunchy Flax Cereal with raisins, unsweetened coconut in almond milk

Well today will be filled with some hot yoga, homework, and making dinner/watching MadMen with Joey! It should be a good day! Hope everyone else has a happy Friday!

12 Responses

  1. I am really proud of you for listening to your body! I also believe that you don’t have to play a sport to be an athlete. My boyfriend called me one the other day because I am always motivated to work out and challenge myself.I wish there was a hot yoga studio near me!

  2. How are the Ezekiel muffins in comparison to the bread? I don’t like the bread as much because it’s to dry for me, but the english muffins look so hearty and good 🙂

  3. i think this post wa really interesting! it is so intersting to think about what really defines an athlete. great eats 🙂

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  4. Although bf and I have been together for over 2 years, I still count the months. I couldnt wait to hit 2 years-for some reason that number felt so meaningful to me. Anyways, HI!!!! I feel like I’ve been out of the loop and I hate it. Happy Anni to you guys!

  5. what kind of dog is Noodle?

  6. Happy 1 year and 4 months doll!! I hope your dinner went well and you enjoyed the veggie burgs! DO you make your own?

    XXOO

  7. Jillz!!! I have missed your adorable blog.
    How is vegan cheddar anyway? I’m curious 🙂

    • The vegan cheddar is quite good actually, but you have to think happy thoughts when handling it, because out of the wrapper it is pretty slimy (aka not appetizing), but if you make it past that then your good!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

