Oh Food Processor, How I Love Thee


Good morning to all! Hope everyone had a great day yesterday! As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I decided to make a big ol’ healthy dinner for Joey and myself. To my surprise everything actually turned out really great! Since there are a ton a recipes, I decided that my blog today will just share those or else it will just be crazy long! Enjoy!

Flatbread Recipe (Derived from Kris’ Healthy Flatbread):

Ingredients:

1 cup cooked buckwheat (to cook take 1 part buckwheat to 2 parts water, bring to boil, then cover and let simmer for 30 minutes)

1 cup cooked quinoa (to cook take 1 part quinoa to 2 parts water, bring to a boil, then cover and let simmer for 15 minutes)

1/4 tsp sea salt (I crank of my grinder)

3 tbsp olive oil

1/2 tbsp Tony’s Chachere’s
Instructions:

1) Preheat oven to 350

2) Add all ingredients to the food processor and blend

3) Roll out mixture onto a cookie sheet (I covered mine in parchment paper for east cleanup) *I do not have a rolling pin so I had to improvise 🙂

4) Cook for 40-50 minutes (I cooked mine 48 and it turned out delightful, crunchy on the outside and a little soft towards the middle)

5) Enjoy! This was so tasty! The Tony’s added a really good flavor. Delightful dipped in the hummus.

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus:

Ingredients:

1 cup chickpeas (I was lazy today and forgot to soak them overnight so I just got a can of chickpeas)

3 cloves raw garlic (lazy, AGAIN!)

1/3 cup sesame tahini

Juice from 1 lemon

1 tsp cumin

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp salt

3/4 tsp pepper

1 roasted red pepper (check out below for how to roast a red pepper)

Instructions:

1) Put all ingredients in food processor and blend

2) That’s it!!! OMG this stuff was good!

Roasting a Red Pepper:

Instructions:

1) Preheat oven to Broil

2) Cut the red pepper in half and get all the seeds out

3) Cover the pepper (inside and out) with vegetable oil, typically using a kitchen brush (I don’t have one so I used my fingers and used canola oil because I’m out of veggie oil; also never use olive oil because it burns too easy)

4) Cook until browned on the outside (mine took about 20 minutes; I just kept an eye on it)

5) Take out of oven and using tongs place peppers in a bowl and seal with cling wrap

6) When pepper are cool enough to handle with hands (15-20 minutes) take out of bowl and peel the skins off (they should come off pretty easily)

“Raw” Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls (Derived from Averie’s RVCCCDB):

Ingredients:

2/3 cup raw cashews

1/3 cup oats

2 tbsp Agave Nectar

1 tbsp Maple Syrup

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

Instructions:

1) Put cashews and oats in the food processor and blend

2) Add agave, maple syrup, and vanilla extract to the processor; blend again

3) Add in chocolate chips and mix-in with your hands or with a spoon

4) Pop mix into the fridge for 20-30 minutes

5) Roll into bite-size balls (should make about 17 mini balls; I ate 5 tonight!)

6) Enjoy!!

These were so good, and Joey even said they are his favorite thing I have ever made. I can only imagine them a little smaller in some vegan ice cream!!

As a main dish for our dinner I made a big salad with tofu (I marinated the tofu in 2 tbsp Amy’s Goddess Dressing and baked it at 350 for 25 minutes). The salad included spinach, celery, cucumber, carrots, cherry tomatoes and another tbsp of goddess dressing.

*Side note: this is Noodle all day waiting for me to drop something

Here is the spread:

The moral of this story is I LOVE my food processor and I can’t wait to try out more new recipes!! It’s always fun to have someone to share your cooking with too; I’m a blessed girl!

8 Responses

  1. Woah girl… Can I come over for dinner??? What a spread! And I love the pumpkin rolling pan, way to improvise 😉
    Noodle is soooo cute sitting there waiting for food to drop lol. My parents pup Ozzy does the same thing 🙂

  2. Oh la la nice work, lady! 🙂

  3. my house doesn’t have a food processor… yeah, don’t want ot talk about it.. hahahah
    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  4. You are a rock star, love!!! I love your flatbread!! And the rest of the eats look delish!

    You need to invite us all over for dinner 🙂

    XXOO

  5. […] and sauteed it on the stovetop. Then I cut up some celery, cherry tomatoes, and ate the rest of my flatbread with some roasted red pepper hummus. For dessert, 2 raw vegan chocolate chip cookie dough […]

Leave a Reply

