Welcoming In The New Year With Good Eats!


Hello to all and Happy New Year!!! I am about to head downstairs to hang out with mama and watch a movie for New Years this year. I know, I’m pretty lame, but I haven’t been feeling 100% since I got home from my trip so I’m having a relaxing evening tonight!

My trip to Texas was soooo much fun!! I love Joey’s family and they always welcome me with open arms 🙂 We had a lot of delicious food too, which I am sad to say I didn’t take pictures of (does anyone else feel strange whipping out the camera in front of people who don’t know all about the blogging thing?) Well take my word for it, there was good food had!

When mama picked me up from the airport yesterday we went to the Galleria in STL which is wonderfully placed by Whole Foods!! It is too far to make a trip just to go (about 40 minutes), but since we were over there I def hit it up! On a side note I searched for this elusive Barney Butter and STILL could not find it!! (I even searched at Central Market in Houston; along with every other grocery store I have ever been too!!) Well along with a bunch of other goodies which I will fill you in about as I eat them I got some dinner there:

There are no words!!!

I also read about these Raw Bars all the time on Fitnessista so when I finally saw them at Whole Foods I picked up all the flavors. I tried this one today, and it legitimately tastes like cookie dough, I was in heaven. When you first open the packaging don’t be too turned off because it is raw there is a weird wetness to the bar, but seriously, eat it!

Chocolate Coconut Raw Organic Food Bar

This morning I got back into my regular schedule with my Seedy PB Banana Oats!

Oh, how I've missed you

And tonight I went out to eat with my parents to Longhorn and had a REALLY impressively good Shrimp meal. I also had an unpictured salad with oil and vinegar and a glass of pinot grigio! YUM!

Grilled Shrimp with Steamed Asparagus & Rice

Last thing on my “to-do” blog list is tell you about my goals for the coming year. They are short, but sweet. (I tend to lose focus if I try for too many):

1) Keep up with my lesiure reading. I have over the past year re-developed a love for reading and being able to continusouly fit it in my schedule makes me happy.

2) Drink more water, I always have troubles with this one.

3) Strive to be the best daughter/friend/girlfriend I can be. Sometimes it is easy to take for granted those closest to you, and I don’t want to do that.

4) Find the right cardio/yoga/strength training balance for my body.

5) Stop biting my freakin nails!! I’m 24 years old!!!! Ha.

That’s about it for me! 2009 has been a great year filled with new family (well James was born the very very end of 2008), a wonderful growing relationship with my man, and strengthening of the bonds between my family and friends! I am really growing into my own and I can’t wait to continue that growth in 2010!

On another side note, my little J-Man is sick and has been to the ER twice this week, so please pray for the little guy to get better soon!

This morning taking care of the sicky-bear. Which PJ's belong to the 1-year old?!?! 🙂

6 Responses

  1. Oh no, hope your baby is better soon. How scary 😦 Hope you have a wonderful 2010.

    *Check out my Yummy Boomi Bar Giveaway, who doesn’t love free stuff!*

  2. Happy New Year Jill! I totally hear you with the picture taking in front of people who aren’t used to it. Sometimes I hide to take them! So sad. The first time is the hardest time for sure but after that it’s not so bad. I always try to go into it feeling proud of the blog and not embarrassed but it’s not always easy.
    Oh I’m so sorry about James- he’s in my thoughts.

  3. Pink penguin pj’s = adoooorable 🙂 Happy 2010!!

  4. Happy new year!

    I have one of those raw bars in my cabinet. Based on your review I’m going to have to try it soon.

  5. wishing you a happy & healthy 2010 🙂 and i love all of your eats! the tofu noodle bowl looks amazing. i love whole foods, obviously. & i want to try that bar- anything that tastes like cookie dough is ok in my book!!

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  6. Hi Jill! I’m glad that you are feeling so positive about the upcoming year. I am actually feeling the same way. I think its going to be a good one! Hope James gets better soon. The poor thing. He is truly adorable!

Leave a Reply

