It’s A Wonderful Feeling, Feel The Love In The Room From The Floor To The Ceiling :-)


MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL! Hope everyone had a blessed day! I had the most amazing time with my family and I stepped up my game this year and cooked so much today! Here’s the rundown of the day:

This morning I made my parents vegan chocolate chip pancakes, and OMG they were a HIT. I am always concerned bringing a vegan recipe to the masses, but everyone loved them and my dad even used legit maple syrup (which is not that common in the US)

Christmas makes it okay to start a family breakfast with champagne!

Instead of lunch we had an appetizer spread:

Shrimp Cocktail

Celery & Carrots

Now the AWESOME recipe! I used a recent Oh She Glows recipe for Pumpkin Spice Stix & Peanut Butter Yogurt Dip, and they were DIVINE!!

Pumpkin Spice Stix:

Cooking Ingredients:

  • 4 Ezekiel Tortillas
  • 7 T Organic cane sugar
  • 1 T Pumpkin pie spice (or more)
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Cooking Instructions:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2) Cut tortillas into strips

3) Cover the tortillas with EVOO (I used one of those kitchen paint brush looking things)

4) Put the sugar and pumpkin pie spice on a large plate and mix

5) Put the strips on the plate and cover them as much as possible with the mixture

6) Spray a cookie sheet with PAM and place about 10 strips (or as many as you can fit) on the sheet

7) Cook for 4 minutes on each side

8 ) ENJOY!

Pumpkin Spice Stix

Peanut Butter Yogurt Dip:

Cooking Ingredients:

  • 1 cup natural chunky PB (I used earth balance)
  • 1 cup vanilla yogurt (I used Dannon light)
  • 6 T unsweetened apple sauce
  • 4 tsp agave nectar
  • 1 pinch sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Cooking Instructions:

1) Mix all ingredients together and ENJOY!!

Peanut Butter Yogurt Dip

After “lunch” we shared some more champagne and Christmas presents:

James was the man of the hour of course! He got so many cool toys!

Besides some fabulous JCrew clothes, I got this awesome wine bottle from a local vineyard filled with Christmas lights

Joey got mama a bottle of Riesling. You wonder where I get it from?! 🙂

I believe that's a fence for farm animals

Mommy/Daughter love

TomTom for me!! Check out J-man with my camera!

Joey got Dad some nice cigars! He knows how to make my dad happy!!

The best part of the day was helping the little guy with his gifts!

So I got James this Mizzou winter hat and apparently guessed wrong on the size. That's all the way pulled down. haha

After presents we made dinner which included ham, green bean casserole, raspberry casserole, rolls, and my addition: sweet potato casserole! I got the recipe from AllRecipes.com

Cooking Ingredients:

Main Ingredients:

  • 3 sweet potatoes, peeled and quartered
  • 3 large golden delicious apples (you could use granny smith also)

In between layers mix:

  • 1/2 cup firmly packed sunacat
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground nutmeg

Crumble top mix:

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup margerine
  • 1/4 cup chopped peacans
  • 1/4 cup sunacat

Cooking Instructions:

Me chopping away!

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2) Cube the sweet potatoes and apples into bite-size pieces

3) Spray a casserole dish with PAM

4) Layer as follows: sweet potato, in between mix, apples, in between mix, sweet potato…..etc.

5) Once you have layer out all of your ingredients mix the crumble ingredients and put on top of the dish

6) Cook for 30 minutes

7) Enjoy!

Sweet Potato Apple Casserole

Dinner was a great overall success, we had lots of great and highly entertaining conversation! I love family time!

My plate

After dinner:

Ready to party!

Not a joke, my mom took this

I ended the evening with the end of both of my ice creams I recently blogged about and a couple pumpkin spice stix, sooo good!

Well tomorrow morning I am heading to Texas to visit my boyfriend and his family! This means that I won’t be blogging for the next couple of days 😦 I may do a few quickie blogs from my phone, but besides that I will be MIA! I hope everyone has a GREAT continued holiday and I can’t wait to catch up with everyone when I get back! XOXO

9 Responses

  1. Spending time with family is such a blessing isn’t it? Your sweet potato apple casserole looks delicious. I will be trying it soon! Thank you for my Christmas Card, it really brightened my day! Have a safe trip to Texas Jill!

  2. so glad you had a wonderful time, everything looks great!
    and you’re right i do love the title of the post 🙂
    enjoy texas!!

  3. I’m glad you had a wonderful Christmas.

    I’m a huge fan of allrecipes.com!
    Rebecca ❤

  4. have an amazing time in texas! and that sweet potato casserole looks delicious- well done 🙂 glad you had a good time with your family AND they loved your food!!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  5. Have an awesome trip, missy! Your hair looks so cute, I love it! 🙂

  6. hahaha awww so exhausted 🙂
    Merry Christmas to you and Noodle and James and the rest of your family!! xox

  7. Have fun in Texas, Jill! You should stop by and visit. Haha, where in Texas will you be?

  8. that casserole looks AMAZING. happy holidays!

  9. You cooked your ass off girl! Everything looked wonderful. You must be missing your man.

Leave a Reply

