I Love When Healthy Food Tastes Like UnHealthy Food!


Good evening everyone!! Hope everyone is having a fabulous night! When I came up the stairs to my room, I found the pups (Noodle, Layla and Cubby) having some kind of secret meeting, haha! Just wanted to give a quick food rundown for the rest of my day before I drink wine and play scrabble with the mama!

Lunch: I just realized I didn’t take a picture. Well I had leftover southwest veggie chili, a gala apple, slice of ezekiel sprouted grain bread, and a flour-less PB cookie! YuM!

Snack:

Carrots drizzled in raw cinnamon honey topped with golden raisins

I was dragging a little today around 4 so I made some black tea that Joey got for me. I tried the Masala Chai and it was DELISH! I cannot explain how much I really like tea now! And the brand Adagio Tea it pretty sensational.

Dinner: This was AWESOME. I am going to pretty much be making dinner for the family every night this week! Mama deserves a break and I love trying out my recipes on others! Tonight I decided to make burgers and fries with a healthy twist I posted the recipe a long time ago on my old blog, here is the post:

Green Chile Turkey Burgers and Sweet Potato Fries: I found this recipe through Cook Yourself Thin and fell in love. I usually use the lowest fat ground turkey (something like 97% fat free), which inevitably means there is not much flavor, BUT when you add the green chilies to the mix it kicks them up into awesomeville. I also use a whole-wheat bun of some kind instead of a Kaiser roll. These are really quick to make and a favorite dinner of mine and Joeys (perfect for a Friday night movie night).

For the sweet potato fries:

2 sweet potatoes

1 tablespoon olive oil

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon salt, plus more for sprinkling

Juice of 1/2 lime

For the turkey burger:

1 1/3 pounds lean ground turkey

1 4-ounce can diced green chiles, drained

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

2–3 spritzes canola oil in a mister

3 ounces 50%-reduced-fat pepper-jack cheese, cut into thin slices

4 whole-wheat Kaiser rolls

Romaine lettuce leaves

Tomato, sliced

Red onion, sliced

1/2 avocado, sliced

Cooking Instructions:

1) For the sweet potato fries, preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

2) Wash and dry the potatoes and, with the skin on, slice into 1/2-inch-thick rounds; cut the rounds into 1/2-inch-thick finger-shaped pieces. Toss the potatoes in a bowl with the oil, chili powder, garlic powder and salt.

3) On a baking sheet, spread the sweet potato fries in a single layer and roast, stirring every 10 minutes, until brown and tender, 30 to 35 minutes. Remove from the oven, transfer to a platter or bowl and sprinkle with a little more salt.

4) Meanwhile, in a large bowl, mix the lean ground turkey with the diced chiles and season with salt and pepper. Shape into patties and refrigerate until ready to cook.

5) Heat a large grill pan or nonstick skillet on medium heat and spritz with canola oil. Add the turkey patties to the grill pan and cook until browned on one side, about 4 minutes. Flip, reduce the heat to low, cover (if using a skillet) and cook until the juices run pale pink, about 4 more minutes. Top with the reduced-fat pepper-jack cheese during the last minute.

6) Toast the rolls in the oven or in a toaster oven. Alternatively, grill them 1 minute on each side.

7) To assemble: On a platter, place the fries and a burger on a bun and top with lettuce, tomato, onion and avocado slices. Squeeze lime juice over the fries and serve.

*Since posting this I have basically gone veggie, so tonight I made them with turkey burger meat for my parents and for myself I tried an Amy’s All American Burger. (Thanks to http://changeofpaceforme.blogspot.com/ for the recommendation!)It was soooo good! I topped it off with a little vegan cheddar cheese and then had the same toppings and such as my parents.

Mine with the works!

Turkey burger and sweet potato fries before the works

This recipe was definitely a hit! It really has so much flavor in the burger it would be hard for someone not to like it!

Time to kick mamas booty in Scrabble! Hope you have a great rest of the night!

What’s your favorite healthy but tastes like unhealthy food?

7 Responses

  1. Your mama must be so happy to have you home. Looks like you are having a great time. I cannot wait to try your carrot cake cookies… delectable.

  2. The dogs are adorable! I think my husband would really like these burgers, so would I, so I’m going to make them sometime soon.

    Thanks for posting how to make it!

  3. I want a burger that has been kicked into awesomeville!! haha. My gingerbread latte totally DID feel like Christmas exploded in my mouth, how did you know??!! hahahaha.

  4. Hey girl! The greensuperfood bars are a little over 200 but are packed with all your greens and essential fats. Which I think is all worth it! I keep them in my car for midday and on the go! Try it out πŸ™‚

  5. My favorite healthy food that tastes like unhealthy food? I make this awesome creamy parsley soup that tastes like it has lot sof cream and butter. But all it has is a potato to add the creaminess. Everything else is just veggies. It’s delicious, but tastes indulgent!
    It sounds like you are having such an amazing time at home!

Leave a Reply

