Cookie Monster!


Good afternoon and happy Friday!! Hope everyone is having a fab day. Mine has been pretty productive, and I’m currently stuffed to the brim from eating too many of the cookies I just baked!

So I LOVE desserts, but I’m not gonna lie and say I have a knack for baking, but I like to try! Also, it’s harder to make healthy desserts that taste really really good (I mean I usually like them, but people who are expecting them to taste like the real deal are typically not pleased). Well today I decided to do a combination of my two favorite things, cookies and carrot cake (my g-ma used to make the best carrot cake EVER). I found a recipe online and I decided to make it all organic! So here ya go! (Oh, also I’m making these because we have a I/O psychology grad girls night tonight with dessert and wine, more on the wine later!)

Cooking Ingredients:

All the Goodies

1/4 cup organic apple sauce

1/2 cup sunacat

1 free range egg

4 ounces canned organic crushed pineapple (I couldn’t find crushed so I just chopped them up really small)

1/2 cup organic carrots shredded (I used a peeler and just peeled through the entire carrot and then chopped up the slivers)

1/4 cup organic raisins

1/4 cup crushed walnuts

1 cup organic whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp sea salt

2 tbsp cinnamon

1 tbsp agave nectar (I think maple syrup would work too)

Cooking Instructions:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2) Mix applesauce and sunacat

3) Beat in egg then add in walnuts, raisins, pineapple, and carrots

4) Sift in the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon

5) On a lightly sprayed cookie sheet place balls of the dough (I had 9 per sheet, and the mixture made 18 cookies) (* haha, i just realized this pic is from the 1st batch, where I put too many on the sheet, stick to 9)

Before the Baking

6) Cook for 10 minutes

7) Take out, and let cool (something I didn’t do!) and enjoy!!

Not Glamorous, but Very Tasty Cookies!

I think these were really good! I made one batch without the agave and they were not sweet enough for me. Hopefully they will be a hit with the girls tonight, I’ll keep you posted. I am seriously so full from eating too many! I only had 2 but I’m a SUCKER for cookie dough!!

Cute Snowman Tupperware

Food for the Day:

Breakfast: I had a Green Monster this morning with a cup of Joe in my new dollar store snowman mug! šŸ™‚

Breakfast

Lunch: Was just a PB & J sammy on Ezekiel bread and an apple (sorry no pic, I scarfed this in the car on the way to yoga).

Like I said, tonight is girls night so when I went to the natural food store earlier I picked up a bottle of organic wine, I wanted to crack into it at 2, but I resisted! (It’s been one of those weeks!)

Green Truck Vino

I almost forgot! I picked up this carrot cake organic rice divine ice cream from Mama Jeans (the natural food stores) and tried a spoonful, HOLY CRAP SOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD!

Spectacular Ice Cream

Now I must do a little studying for a final next week before I beautify for the evening!

Any fun plans for my bloggy girls tonight?

8 Responses

  1. Jillz! I am def one of those people who don’t like healthy baking but if you made it I would try it šŸ™‚ I loove carrot cake anything. Actually it’s probably the cream cheese frosting that makes me love carrot cake… haha.

    Tonight is date night for my bf and me and I am making him take me to this French resturant I want to try šŸ™‚ He’s a good boy lol. Have a good Friday girl!!! xox

  2. thanks for the recipe- it sounds great!!
    no, i’m studying sadly

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  3. Yum! your cookies look soo delish!

  4. I made cookies that looked just like that..but tasted AMAZING….who cares what they look like really šŸ™‚ Yoga is my favorite way to start the weekend….lengthen out !

  5. Oh no.. I’m always looking for a good healthy cookie recipe… I’ll definitely have to try that one!

    I’ve had that wine before and it’s really good! Can’t wait to see what you think!

  6. Those cookies look great. Might have to try and make them after the holidays.

  7. […] Cookie #1 Carrot Cake Cookies: […]

Leave a Reply

