Taco Salad Fixes Everything :-)


Good evening to all! I just finished dinner, am catching the end of Jersey Shore, and thought I’d blog about my awesome dinner.

I had another long day! Up by 6 and been working/schooling/gyming ever since! Phew. Today at the gym I found out there were no job openings for me. Which is currently both good and bad, bad because I wanted a job, and it’s so close. But good because now I can go home much earlier for Christmas and I don’t have to try to sell tanning products (which I don’t really agree with). Also on the job front, I put in my 2 weeks at Banana today. As much as I love the discount, it is just not worth the time. Between getting ready, the commute, and then typically only working about 1/2 of my 4 hours shifts, it just doesn’t make sense for me. So I called today and let the GM know, and honestly I don’t think she cared at all. Ha. But they are currently overstaffed, and it probably actually helps them to have one less person to try to fit in the schedule. Oh well, moving on and starting a new year fresh with new possibilities to come! Hoping for the best and hopefully I will find a job when I get back from break.

Anyways…. oh my workout today was a 30 minute run on the treadmill at 7.0 (I ran 3.5 miles). It is so funny to me how much the first 10-12 minutes always sucks, and then running gets fun once you get past that point. I also did 15 minutes on the elliptical, level 12 on interval.

Lunch today was a PB (natural peanut butter) & J (organic grape jelly) sammy. Sorry no pictures, Joey still had my camera from last night. I also had 2 carrots and an apple. Yum!

Snack was my favorite LaraBar, apple pie!!! I also had some Comfort and Joy Tea.

Now, to dinner! I was craving a taco salad, so I decided to make it healthy style!

First I sauteed some broccoli, onions, tomatoes, and pinto beans.

The works

I also mashed up a vegan boca and added that to the mix.

Smashed Vegan Boca

I found these amazing chips at World Market (they are killer).

Sweet & Spicy Chips With Flaxseed

They were the bottom layer,

Chippers

then I just added the goodness on top! I also shredded some vegan cheddar cheese and added fresh salsa.

Ridiculous Dinner

I must say it was sooooo good! After a long day I needed a comforting and filling din-din. I LOVE finding fun ways to use the ingredients I already have to make delish meals!

Well it’s back to being productive for me. Hope everyone is staying warm and smiling as we inch closer and closer to the holidays!! yay!!

4 Responses

  1. haha I did taco style tonight too!!! Yum 🙂

  2. mmmm looks delicious!

  3. oh my gosh that looks SO GOOD!! so much better than my college oat dinners!! haha .. i gota make that once i get home for break!

  4. thanks you thanks you for stopping by my little blog 🙂
    so glad you did, cause now i found yours! and i am loving that taco salad, yum!
    bummer about all the job jazz, but your attitude rocks. new years = new opportunities!
    enjoy the rest of your night!!

Leave a Reply

