It’s Friday Night and the Mood is Right….TGIF


Happy Friday night to all! Hope everyone had a good day and is enjoying my new web page, I’m LOVING it.

Busy day again for me with meetings, homework and such. It doesn’t even really feel like the weekend because I have to do homework and work all weekend, that’s a bummer for sure!

Lunch today was a GREEN MONSTER. I was rushing all over the place and I almost think it works better as a lunch than breakfast. It filled me up for so long and gave me enough energy to make it out in the 20 degree weather today! BRRRR!! I’m used to it since I grew up in the Midwest, well mostly, after we moved to IL from Washington, DC (fun facts about me; also, I’m an Air Force brat).

Green Monster

Today’s Green Monster Recipe:

1 banana

1 tbsp flax seed meal

1 tbsp chia seed meal

1 tbsp almond butter

2 1/2 cups spinach

1 cup almond milk

1/2 scoop chocolate soy protein powder

3 ice cubes

Snack was a peanut butter cookie LaraBar.

Peanut Butter Cookie LaraBar

I think larabars might be my favorite, they have incredible flavor for being free of so many things (dairy, glueten, wheat, etc). I still think Apple Pie is my favorite though.

I had to run to Mama Jeans Natural Food Mart for some almond butter and snuck a picture (without feeling too silly) of the almighty awesome fresh almond butter grinder!!! Its incredible 🙂

Almond Butter Maker

I also tried a Diet Hansen’s Ginger Ale Soda. Quite delish! I love Zevia’s but can’t bring myself to spend almost $7.00 on 6 sodas, so I treated myself to a single natural soda today at Mama Jeans.

Diet Hansen Ginger Ale

I usually make dinner for Joey and I on Thursdays, but since I was so busy yesterday, I pushed it back till tonight. So I whipped up another new recipe from my Student’s Vegetarin Cookbook. This book is FAB because it has the ingredients so it makes about 2 servings per recipe, which is wonderful for those cooking for 1 or 2 because there aren’t soooo many leftovers. Tonight I tried the White Bean Jumble.

Cooking Ingredients:

1 glove garlic, minced

1/2 cup onion, chopped (I used white, but I think red would have been good also)

1 cup kale, de-stemmed

2 potatoes steamed (I used red, but white is do-able too)

2 Red Taters

1 tbsp thyme

1 medium tomato chopped

Chopped Tomato

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 cup white beans (I used them from a can of organic white kidney beans)

salt and pepper to taste

Cooking Instructions:

1) Cut potatoes into bite-size pieces and steam them (I used my steamer)

Steaming the Taters

2) Put olive oil in a large saucepan and heat to medium

3) Add onions, garlic, and thyme to the saucepan and sauté until onions are translucent (about 3-5 minutes)

4) Add kale and tomatoes to the mix and sauté until the kale shrinks down (3-5minutes)

5) Add potatoes and beans to the mix, heat for about 2 minutes

All Ingredients in the Saucepan

6) Add salt and pepper to taste

7) Serve and enjoy!

This recipe was like a hearty stew, great for a cold day. The only thing I might have done different is adding a little more garlic. But it was a hit with both myself and Joey!

White Bean Jumble & Vino

*Even better with wine! (Notice the STL cardinals coasters, GO CARDS)

Overall, today was a good but busy day. When joey came over he made my day because he brought me my FAVORITE vegan cookie for Khaldi’s coffee shop! YUMMY!!

My Favorite Cookie EVER

It is so nice to have such a wonderful boyfriend. And it’s always the little things that make the biggest impact.

Well it’s TV, wine, and relax time here. Must get in some sleep before the big weekend of work. I know I’m old because I prefer Friday nights in. By Saturday I’m better rested to actually do something at night haha. Old woman Jubinski is my name 🙂

2 Responses

  1. I feel like an old woman a lot of the time, too. I’m always wanting to go to bed by midnight at latest. I’m always up really early. But I like working out first thing in the morning. It sets a nice pace to my day. That vegan cookie looks pretty delicious. You do have a very sweet boyfriend.
    (It’s so cool that your bf’s parents work at Exxon. In Texas?)

  2. Yup, in Houston. They seem to really enjoy it!

    I def love working out first thing! But I rarely get to do it, if nothing else I just prefer to workout before noon. It gets sooo much harder for me as the day goes on.

    And the cookie is soooo good, I want to know the recipe. Its chalk full on cranberries, cinnamon and goodness

Leave a Reply

