Homemade Monday


Hello to all! Busy bee day for me running errands around town, did some hot yoga, and made dinner for Joey! It turned out wonderful, so although I’m short on time tonight I wanted to share the recipe with you. It is modified slightly, but the base recipe comes from CanYouStayForDinner, LOVE that site!

Ingredients:

1 acorn squash

1/4 cup brown rice

1/4 cup wild rice

2 cups organic veggie broth (obviously, you can use whatever kind of broth you want, even chicken)

1/4 cup dried cranberries

1/4 cup chopped mixed nuts (I used almonds and pecans)

Instructions for nuts & acorn squash:

1) Preheat oven to 350

2) Put chopped nuts on a baking sheet, I put tin foil underneath for easy cleanup, and bake for 7 minutes

3) Bump oven up to 400

4) Slice acorn in half, not as easy task, and remove innerds

5) Place facedown on a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray, again I used tin foil (sprayed the tin foil)

6) Cook for 30 minutes or until you can stick a fork easily in the skin

Instructions for rice:

1) Mix broth and rice together in a sauce pan and bring to a boil

I used Lundberg OF COURSE :-)

2) After boil, set on low heat, cover and let simmer for about 40 minutes, or until the broth is soaked up (and rice is cooked of course! Don’t worry if you need to add more broth)

3) Add in nuts and cranberries

*In the end put the rice mix in the acorn hole and ENJOY!!

It was a lovely dinner with Joey :-)

Well that’s it from me tonight! Hope everyone had a fantastic Monday!

4 Responses

  1. YAY!! Oh I’m so happy that you made this. Thank you so so much for all of your kind words and support. I can’t tell you how much you’ve done for my confidence as a new blogger. You are so wonderful.
    I hope you have a great Tuesday!!
    P.S. I feel like your blog is such a breath of fresh air. Your humor and enthusiastic spirit come through in every post. I always look forward to reading it.

  2. I remember when she posted that recipe. It does look like a good one!!

  3. I was just looking at some acorn squash in the produce section a couple days ago and was wondering how to prepare it. What a wonderful recipe! I will definitely have to give this a try. I love how the two halves look like hearts!

  4. not only does this look delicious and healthy buit it is so pretty! I love food that is pleasing to the eye ;)

    I love all the ingredients here, so good!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

